top of page

Taking the Weight Off-Guided Meditation

I often have to listen to guided meditations in order to be able to fall asleep. (Thank you Jason Stephenson for always putting me to sleep, and making sure I sleep soundly).

 

Floating, is a dream I wished I had on a normal basis. Rather than the nightmares I have almost every night. On the nights that I can't fall asleep, I typically turn on Jason Stephenson's "Floating Among-st the Stars" guided meditation. (Which is linked)

It is something about feeling lifted, that I love so much. It isn't even levitation, it is like giving my soul a break from all the weight I put on my shoulders.


 


 

Not many people know of Guided Meditations, which is okay. I only learned of it last year in therapy.

I personally have struggled with sleep for the majority of my teenage years. My therapist is an amazing woman, she has helped me through so much through the past year or so. (I have been in therapy since seventh grade, and it took until my sophomore year to find the therapist that worked for me.)

She told me that meditation helps relax the mind. Especially before bed and in the morning. Overall it is a good way to get your mind to slow down and relax.

In my case, I thought too much before I went to sleep. My mind would replay of all the things I said and did wrong throughout the day. So I thought I would give it a shot.


The first time was a little weird at first, which is normal. The person starts talking to you and letting you know everything is okay, it is time to relax now, and that you are in a safe place.

From here the person tells you to let go of your thoughts, and to displace them to somewhere else. Put them away for now, and focus on your breathing.

When you are finally in a relaxed state, which for some takes longer than others, they start to go onto the visual concept. You can visualize yourself somewhere else, and in my case. Floating in space.


 

If you are like me, and have issues sleeping. Try guided meditation. (There are many different types of guided meditations, such as ones for anxiety and depression. Even some for energy and clear dreams)

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page